On Fall Mornings

fallforest

Poem and Photo by Kloipy (Seth Dombach)

It has been far too long

On rambling days when the heat makes the sweat roll like rain

And long hot nights spread out forever

But now the mornings come with a crisp reminder

That change is coming soon

The cool air that hits like a wave

Refreshing, rebuilding, and subtle in power

You stare just a bit more

At things that you would once give little pause to

Take a sunrise

One that normally would pass you by

Now its intensity beckons you

You wrap your arms around you

Holding on to the warmth inside

As you watch the growth of another day

The smell of the season is on the air

Under your feet leaves crunch and swish

It may be the color that draws you in

But it is something else, something deeper

That unnamed feeling of self-interest

Providing insight into eternity

Understanding that though we are not physically immortal

We do live on

We go back and give back and are breathed throughout time

8 responses to “On Fall Mornings

    • Thanks my friend! this is my favorite time of the year, brings out something in me that doesn’t appear the rest of the year.

  1. Very nice, Kloipy.

    I’ve been up at Finglandrigg Wood with the express purpose of getting some Autumn colour shots… but Autumn hasn’t arrived yet. It’s still warm too. All of this is in keeping with March, when Spring didn’t arrive but Winter held on. So, no, ‘the smell of the season’ is not yet on the air…

    • Thanks wolf! so good to hear from you man. It just turned cool here and some of the leaves have changed. I just love this time of year

      • I thought you’d have a lot of new stuff up by the time I got back off holiday. Am I missing something – are you posting somewhere else as well?

      • Hey man, I thought I would too hahaha. I’ve been consumed lately in writing a novel and that’s taken up much of my free time. I will try and post more but i’m guessing it will be infrequent until I’m don on this end. Thanks for checking in as always my friend

  2. I really liked this, man. That last line is the best of them all. A very profound way to end the prose. Good job. As always, I am deeply impressed your way with words.

Leave a Reply

