Under These Skies; Do I Lie: A poem

 

Poem and Photography by Kloipy (Seth Dombach)

 

Under these skies; do I lie

Back against the soft damp grass

Feet pointing like mountains toward the low hung clouds

A gentle breeze

Chills the beads of dew slowly rolling off my forearm

 

Under these skies; do I lie

Listening to the melancholy music of

The symphony of leaves blown back and forth on the hands

Of the branches

The notes are familiar to me still

 

Under these skies; do I lie

Watching a rhythmic dance of a host of sparrows

They twist and turn each with perfect grace and timing

I am transfixed

By the subtlety of their brilliant display

 

Under these skies; do I lie

Dreaming, with the warm sun fixed

On my eyelids;  an orange hue to the patterns beneath

Like a kaleidoscope

Shifting, changing, moving, and beautiful to behold

 

Under these skies; do I lie

In the field by a barn in disrepair

It’s years shown through the holes where the light fills in

Points of light

Cascade against the muted hay on the floor

 

Under these skies; do I lie

While luminous clouds hang like paint upon the sky

So still that you scarcely know that they are moving past

Moving ever onward

To be seen in a perfect moment for someone else

 

8 thoughts on “Under These Skies; Do I Lie: A poem

  1. Evocative.

    Well played again…

    Never see sparrows doing that kind of boogie – usually starlings over here, they flock together in vast, ever-changing clouds. Hell of a sight…

Leave a Reply

