Great Horror Moments Series

It should come as no surprise that I’m a huge horror geek. Being a fan of horror is a hard thing to explain to those who don’t like it. There is something about the vicarious way that horror can give you an actual emotional impact of fear in a controlled environment.

Fear is such an interesting thing. It is something that really gets to the core of us as a species. It’s an uncontrollable thing and sometimes it catches us unexpectedly. Whether it is a shadow on the wall at night or a steps descending into a dark basement, it can catch us by surprise and reduce us to 5 year olds.

So I thought I would spotlight a series of moments that get to that level. Something that makes us pull the covers up just a little higher and hope that that noise out in the hall is just the house settling.

Mulholland Drive: A Dream

David Lynch is no stranger to horror. Though his movies may not be seen as typical horror (or typical anything for that matter) he definitely knows how to craft a nightmare scenario. It’s hard to explain why his films and images can get under your skin so well, but no one has truly captured that strange feeling of a dream spiraling out of control than Lynch has.

 

 

Texas Chainsaw Massacre: His Name was Leatherface

‘Texas Chainsaw Massacre’ is a classic horror series. In my opinion it is a series that has only 2 good movies (1 and 2), but Tobe Hooper really managed to grab something special and weird with TCM. There is something about the first two movies that is almost complete anarchy. The movie is known as extremely brutal and gory which is actually untrue. There is very little blood in the film. It gets it’s reputation because it puts things in your head than are much worse than what you actually see.

I’ve picked this iconic scene because up to this point in the film, other than a weird hitchhiker, you have really no idea what is going to happen. The way the film was made almost feels like a found footage movie, and when you first see Leatherface it really starts to spin out of control.
 


 

 

Psycho: HERE’S MOTHER!

Psycho is such a well known movie that most people, even those who haven’t seen the film, know it almost beat for beat.  However, there was a time when people were still surprised. And I was one of those people. I saw this movie as a kid and didn’t know much about it, other than the look of the house and motel. Most people pick the shower scene (and it is a classic) but I’m going with the actual reveal of ‘mother’.

This was a scene that completely caught me by surprise and really is horrific.

 

 

In the Mouth of Madness: Do the Limbo!

There is something about the unexplained that is particularly creepy to me. I love when things happen with no reason and we don’t get anything explained. ‘In the Mouth of Madness’ is full of these types of moments, and really is an underrated movie.  A must see for fans of Stephen King and H.P. Lovecraft

 

 

The Shining: As soon as possible?

I’ve stated this before and I’ll state it again. The Shining is my favorite horror movie of all time. It is a movie I return to again and again. Something that I could discuss and dissect for hours, like any Kubrick film. This is a film with many moments that pop into your head, the little twin girls, the lady in the bathtub, the bear/wolf dude.

What scares me most about the movie is when Jack is completely taken over. There is something so scary about his actions and his voice. The idea of domestic abuse taken to the most extreme. It’s haunting and terrible. That’s why I’ve chosen this scene.

Come back soon for more great horror moments and I’d love to know what got to you!

36 thoughts on “Great Horror Moments Series

  1. The Shining is my all time favorite horror flick as well. To me, the most disturbing scene is the elevators of blood opening into the lobby. I first saw this movie when I was pretty young (probably too young) and have felt strangely about hotels ever since. Kind of weird, since I worked in the hotel industry for years…lol

      • That’s kind of a joke right kloipy? Probably because you saw it at 10 it stuck with you! I watched it, just pieces of it on a little B&W tv during a Halloween marathon and I was messed up for months.

        Not sure where but heard (?) some commentary about the making of, very interesting if you like that type of stuff.

      • I’ve seen a few commentaries about it and some really interesting stuff in there 🙂

  2. i used to be married to a guy who loved nothing more than blood, guts, and screams. i think i have seen them all, but now back on my own, i am more in to history, and shows that teach me something. if i want a night of entertainment, i turn to emotional shows that deal with people’s personal lives

  3. I don’t find slasher films entertaining. So I don’t like the blood and guts horror. But I have found that Japanese and Korean horror movies tell really great ghost stories. Some of the Korean ones can get pretty bloody. But a lot of them manage to do ‘scary’ really really well without resorting to blood and guts shock value.

  4. Great list! I’d add “Poltergeist.” The clown under the bed. I won’t be able to watch it if you put it on here, but I think it belongs. 🙂

  5. Great list! I’d add “Poltergeist” – the clown under the bed. I won’t be able to watch it if you do add it, but I think it belongs. 🙂

  6. Cool post!

    I agree with urbannight – Japanese and Korean movies scare the crap out of me. The Exorcist always gets me too. Anything with demons or ghosts and I’m completely done (doesn’t ever stop me from watching them though!)

  7. I’m a horror nerd too. From around 2nd- 6th grade my friend and I would sneak to the video store and rent all these terrible movies kids shouldn’t see and just sit there for hours watching them.

  8. I watched “The Grudge” and never again. I’m not afraid of clowns at all, so that wouldn’t scare me. Alfred Hitchcock was awesome with psychological horror-he was a master. Even though I am not a huge fan of Ghost Adventures, there was one episode where he had the actors who protrayed Leather Face and Freddy Kruger go ghost hunting with them. The ghosts appeared to favor Leather Face and tried to scare him! Lol!!

  9. 1. Mullholland Drive is, except for the diking out scenes, mostly unwatchable garbage. you can’t retrofit a TV series into a movie you wind up with well Mullholland Dr.

    2. no real opinion one way or the other except that it is a product of its time and we will never see a time like that again. Movies suck now.

    3. Ok finally a legitimate one you had to get one eventually.

    4. Never saw it don’t have an opinion.

    5. and you stumbled again. Don’t like The shining but that’s due entirely to the presence of that rancid piece of shit Nickelson, fucking scum bag.

    I’m glad you posted this i was thinking the estrogen finally won and you turned completely into a chick.

  10. Three of them films really stick out from my childhood days – my older brother used to pick me up Horror films on VHS to watch and laugh at me as I tried to hide my eyes behind a pillow! Pennywise created my fear of clowns! Norman put me of showers for years and don’t even get me started on the creepy trike riding twins in that empty hotel!!!

  11. In The Mouth Of Madness is underrated, you’re right.

    Have you seen the Shining making-of? Though he’s chatting away in his room, brushing his teeth – Nicholson is in character, he’s Torrance.

    • I have seen that ‘making of’ it’s a special feature on the DVD I have. It’s actually one of the better special features I’ve seen because it isn’t a half-hour of people kissing each other’s assess. It’s a pretty unfiltered view into the set. You can see how much Shelly hated Kubrick. Very interesting stuff.

  12. 1. No, MD is not a horror film. It’s a crap one though.

    2. Fair shout

    3. Fair shout

    4. Yes! Carpenter’s Last Great film.

    5. Fair shout.

    Aside from the inexplicable MD mention, good list.

    • MD isn’t a horror film, but that scene is a creepy one for me. Just how he describes the dream and how all of the sudden it’s happening.

      I’m glad some people recognize the greatness of In the Mouth, I remember the first time I saw it having no expectations and really didn’t know what it was about and it creeped the hell out of me. I agree too, it was Carpenter’s last and probably final great film.

Leave a Reply

