Rock Tea by Gary Gildner

photo by Kloipy (Seth Dombach)

 

Rock Tea

by Gary Gildner

At a hot springs in Sawtooth Mountains
   8,000 feet above the level sea,
my two-year-old daughter enters the steamy shallows, and sings
   I’m naked! I’m naked! And clings to herself
as if the pink body under her slender arms might slip away.
   I do not want her to slip away, not ever,
but I know one day she will. I know
   one day she will put on her snow boots
and take up the trail in earnest—and I will call out
   I am happy for her, very happy, but sad too,
and hope I will see her again. From the pool’s moony wash
   she brings me her cupped hands. Rock tea, Papa, you like some?
I cup her hands in my own, and drink. It is delicious, I say,
   more delicious than air itself, than life, may I have another?
And perhaps you will have one too? Perhaps, thank you,
   In this way, gently over rock tea,
we celebrate how far we have traveled together.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Rock Tea by Gary Gildner

  1. Awwwwwww is all I can say…my son is much older now and me my wife often had thoughts such as these. as he was growing up..still do to a degree…it never goes away..

  2. Awwwww..is all I can say…Me and my wife had much similar thoughts as our son was growing up…he’s much older now but those thoughts never go away I think no matter how old your child may get..

Leave a Reply

