Music Spotlight: 5 Songs, 1 Theme

Each week you pick a theme, I’ll provide 5 songs to fit that theme!

Read the rest of the article to find out the winner and songs!

Theme of the Week:

Surviving a drive from Canada to Florida with 3 kids and a husband who likes Nickelback while being chased by Zombies

 

This weeks winner is the hilarious blogger Ordinary Childhood. Check out her awesome blog ‘The Ordinary Adventures of Javier Antonio

 

5. 30 Seconds to Mars: Kings and Queens

 

 

4. Incubus: Circles

 

3. Tool: Parabola

 

2. Radiohead: Paranoid Android

 

 

1. Golden Earring: Radar Love

 

That’s it for this week! Get your themes in for next week!

19 thoughts on “Music Spotlight: 5 Songs, 1 Theme

  1. Thank you so much! I can’t believe I didn’t have Radar Love already on my iPod, I’ve thought of it a couple of times and keep forgetting. This will definately help evading the zombies (and Nickelback, more importantly the Nickelback)

    • I would take on a horde of zombies, equipped only with a 2X4 than having to listen to more than 3 Nickleback Songs

  2. Radio Head, really? Do you also own fake square rim eye glasses, un-ironic ironic Che Gueverra(absolute scumbag) Tee Shirt, skinny jeans and a scarf?

    • no but I have been listening to radiohead since I was 14 before it was hip to do that I guess. Who knows, I don’t keep up with what’s cool. I yam what I yam

      • no but I have been listening to radiohead since I was 14 before it was hip to do that I guess.

        Really?

        HIPSTER!

      • Dear Kloipy, I salute you for your inclusion of Radiohead.

        I think your next theme should be ‘Music to ride giraffes to’. That’s not a sexual reference, just a suggested mode of transport. 🙂

        I am now going to stop leaving random comments on your post.

      • everything but it starts with their hipster douche bag fans and their holier then though attitude over a band that it isn’t any better then say Clodplay.

      • Okay. I hope I don’t fall into the ‘hipster douche bag fans’. I’m not any sort of a groupie nor do I like them in order to follow the crowd. I’m never like that. I like them because I enjoy they’re music, I think they’re actually a talented bunch. They’re not everyone’s cup of tea, but I certainly think they’ve got longevity and enough diversity and, arguably, enough talent to justify it.

  3. Epic fail for Radiohead. Epic epic fail.

    They are the sound of 4 men climbing up a giant arse. Probably their own.

    Radar Love is a great shout.

    Next week should be Music to stomp hipsters to.

    • Seriously, what’s wrong with Radiohead?

      There are five of them. Are you suggesting that they each take a turn, allowing the remaining four to climb into their own arse? Interesting concept, not sure about the acoustics. 😉

      • Radiohead basically stopped being a decent band round about Kid A time when Yorke went on and on about “reinventing music” and “soundscapes”.

        I like the Bends and Pablo Honey, but you can see the pretension coming through thick and fast in OK Computer (Karma Police). Kid A was an atrocity, and since then they’ve just been worse.

        I didn’t include the drummer in the climbing up on arse thing, as I don’t think he’d be able to get the kit up there. As for the acoustics? Yorke’s had his massive head buried for ages, so it’s probably like a circus dome in there!

      • I’m smiling as I read this. 🙂

        I guess I just listening to the music, for the music. I can’t be bothered with the image and the wankiness. I can see where you’re coming from. Wasn’t big on ‘Kid A’ myself, it’s pretty self indulgent. However, I did really like ‘Hail to the Thief’, I thought that was a brilliant album, but ‘Kid A’ and to an extent ‘Amnesiac’ really set up their obscure vibe.

        I also think that OK Computer is a fantastic album. But I like the sound of it, I’m not interested in listening to their motivation/arrogance (which I don’t doubt is there!). Maybe that makes me a bad fan.

        I don’t know if you have any opinions on Crowded House but Neil Finn, quite a few years back now, did a thing called ‘Neil Finn and Friends’. It was a collaborative CD and gig in Auckland, New Zealand. It included Tim Finn, Eddie Vedder, Johnny Marr, amongst others including Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway. It’s worth checking out. Not a Radiohead track in sight! 😉

  4. I think it needs to be said again HIPSTER!!!!!

    if next week is music to stomp HIPSTERS too Slayer, Danzig and Motorhead have to appear.

  5. Love the utterly bizarre nature of this post, great Incubus track, ‘Morning View’ is a fantastic album. Wow. Blast from the past, also digging the Radiohead as well as the utterly quirky topic! 🙂

  6. I liked Radiohead up to ‘Kid A’

    That album made me want to rip my own ears off. I love ‘Paranoid Android’ though.

    HIPSTER!

    Just thought I’d throw that in there.

Leave a Reply

