Kloipy Speaks Presents: Food-Beer-Movie 1

 

Welcome to the first edition of Food-Beer-Movie. This article will focus on 3 things to set your night off right.

Here I will give you a food recipe that I’ve either created or a favorite of mine, beer recommendation, and finish it off with a movie to fit the tone.

 

FOOD

Not the actual sandwich but you get the idea here

Today’s recipe is now a standard in my home. I made this first from scratch mixing, and now perfected. This simple sandwich is just right when you are looking for something filling, hot, and full of melty-deliciousness.  This is good for a quick lunch, but just as good for a early evening dinner. I bring you:

The Holy Shit (named for the noise you should make after your first bite)

What you need:

A crunchy French bread (find a 12 inch if you can-FRESH only!)

1/2 Red Onion (cut the onion and break the rings out

A couple of sour pickle slices

2 Slices Colby Cheese, 2 Slices Pepper-Jack Cheese

1 tablespoon of butter (melted)

 2 slices of cooked bacon (optional)

6 slices of Ham, 6 slices of Roast Beef (use the good stuff and you can put more or less to your own taste)

Mustard

Mayo

 

Pre-Heat the oven to 350

For this sandwich you will want to start by cutting the bread in half. Cover the top and bottom of the bread with the melted butter. Mix the mayo and mustard together and spread on the bread on the inside top and bottom. Next place the meat, pickles, bacon, red onion rings, and top with the cheese. Close the sandwich and place it in the oven for 5-8 minutes. The cheese should be melted and the outside of the bread should be golden.

And that is it. Easy to make and the crunch is what makes this sandwich so good. Enjoy

 

 

BEER

After your sandwich has made its way to your belly, it is time to crack open a cold one.

Today’s Beer is:

Tröegs HopBack Amber Ale (brewed close to me in Hershey, PA)

I couldn’t wait to drink this so it is missing the full head on the picture

From the Tröegs Website

Alcohol by Volume: 6.0%

Hop Bitterness (IBUs): 55

Color (SRM): Amber

Availability: Year Round

Malts: Pilsner, Munich, Crystal

Hops: Cascade, Williamette, Nugget

HopBack Hops: Nugget, Crystal

Yeast: Ale

This beer in one word is: Delicious. It smells amazing with some citrus, some malt, a little piney with some caramel. This beer looks beautiful in the glass with probably the perfect amber description ever. The taste hits you right away and lingers on the after taste. This is a beer that is insanely drinkable and can get on top of you quick if you let it. It is refreshing and tasty, and you won’t go wrong with a couple of these any night.

Cheers!

Click here to take a look at the description from the website

http://www.troegs.com/Assets/downloads/hopBack.pdf

 

 

Movie

Now that your belly is full and you are enjoying a cold one, it is time to finish off the night with a flick.

Tonight’s pick for this pairing couldn’t be more American:

Die Hard

A classic action film that gets right what so many action films don’t. It is fun, intense, and an altogether satisfying film, just like the food and beer you’ve enjoyed already.

 

 Thanks for checking out the first edition of Food-Beer-Movie. I hope you’ve enjoyed it and will be back for the next round!

25 thoughts on “Kloipy Speaks Presents: Food-Beer-Movie 1

  1. Die Hard, An Amber Ale and a Sandwich which includes Pepper Jack Cheese? That is pure perfection bro…

    • thanks man! If you haven’t had the Troegs Hopback, do yourself a favor and get a sixpack tonight. It is delicious. And the sandwich is like an explosion of awesome.

    • Die Hard is the perfect action film. My wife was not looking forward to watching it when I first rented it and told her she needed to watch it. She watched it, loved it, and has now seen all of them and a big fan of the series. 🙂

  2. Awesome new feature. I haven’t seen Die Hard yet (gasp) but I’m guessing I’ll enjoy it a lot when I eventually watch it. That beer looks great but, man, the Holy Shit sounds EPIC. Could you make one and mail it to me?

  3. Hell yes! I KNEW there was a reason I followed your blog! Of course, there are all the other enjoyable reads you have provided, but THIS! You know how to live my friend. I’m practically giddy to hear your opinion on the food and movie to go along with a Stone brew. I’ve already got my perfect combo, but please do make your assessment.

    • Thanks man! I’ll definitely do one with a Stone. I’ll have that coming soon. I’m already getting ideas for the meal and movie to go along with it. Just for a hint, the next article is going to come along with a classic belgian white ale. But look for the Stone one soon. Thanks for the comment and for reading the site man! Defintiely appreciate it!

  4. That’s an ace butty, mate.

    Don’t think I can get Troegs over here (but Tesco have got Sierra Nevada pale ale). My go-to booze is Schneider Weiss Aventus.

    Die Hard = mint (and I can’t believe somebody up there hasn’t seen it – boy are they in for a treat…)

    Excellent post!

  5. This is a pretty brilliant feature. I think I’ll be making that sandwich this weekend. I’ve never heard of that beer, but I need to drink it right now even though I’m at work. My job is mindless at this point, anyways. I agree, there is nothing more American than Die Hard. Not looking forward to the next one, but there’s always a chance it’ll be good. A very small one.

Leave a Reply

