2013 New Year’s Resolutions from Kloipy Speaks

beard

Once again the time has come for the start of another year. 2012 was a crazy, busy, fun, sad, weird year (as they all seem to be). The past few weeks have been made up of hectically preparing for the holidays, stuffing myself until I regret living with awesome food, and drinking copious amounts of delicious beer. I started this blog last February. Since then I’ve had an overwhelming response. With almost 400 followers, 64,000 views, add to that all the awesome people I’ve met, it has been an overwhelming success for a first year. I’d like to say thanks to all those who have stopped by, liked a post, commented, and to those friends I’ve made over the past year, so glad to have met you all.

Now the holidays are almost done and in a few mere hours we will be ringing in the New Year, it is time for some resolution. Let’s get to it.

No longer will I trust anything the Mayans say. Quetzalcoatl damn you!

I resolve to drink a lot of great beer in 2013 (a resolution I can keep)

I’m currently 6 days smoke free and counting. It sucks but isn’t as bad as you think. Listen up kids, don’t smoke cigarettes! Also kids, why are you reading my blog?

I will finish at least one home project that has carried over from 2012. No more ‘bucket-toilet’ for this guy.

I will set up a team of amateur Sasquatch hunters and set up our own adventures and call ourselves ‘The Squatchmen’.

I will keep my beard neatly trimmed and a lot less ‘hobo-is’

I will still find out what exactly ‘The Grimace’ from McDonalds is. This is a resolution I’ve kept for years but have not yet fulfilled.

I need to take more naps because I’ve been falling asleep around 10 o clock.

I resolve to smile less. This is the year of the smirk.

I resolve to see more films in the theater that don’t feature singing/dancing cgi creatures.

I will stop referring to things as ‘nut-brown’.

I will infiltrate a zoo long after closing, catch and tame a giraffe, and ride it through downtown Chicago.

I will spend less time watching the news because I can’t turn it on without getting pissed off anymore at the state of American politics.

Those are just a few of my resolutions. Even though it is just another year starting, there is always something transformative about the celebration of the New Year.  That feeling of starting brand new. We start in the cold of the winter where we stay cozy and close to home, then spring comes and we blossom out into the world, summer is filled with the work and relaxation of our middle years, fall then comes to be reflective over what is and what has passed, then we go back to winter and back to the home.

Things to look forward to from Kloipy Speaks in 2013: more photography, youtube videos including beer reviews, more fiction and poetry, more humor, and much more. It has been a great year and thanks again for visiting!

15 thoughts on “2013 New Year’s Resolutions from Kloipy Speaks

  1. Glad to have found your blog, and made a long distance friend in the process…good luck with your non-smoking….here’s to a less than sad year and a new year of good movies to review ..:)

  2. “I’m currently 6 days smoke free and counting. It sucks but isn’t as bad as you think. Listen up kids, don’t smoke cigarettes! Also kids, why are you reading my blog?” ~Awesome!! I’ve recently given them mostly up myself except for the occasional one when I drink.

    “I will infiltrate a zoo long after closing, catch and tame a giraffe, and ride it through downtown Chicago.” ~Can I help you do this??? Pretty pretty please???

  3. Happy New Year, Kloips!

    Squirrels ate through my phone line, I’ve had no connection since New Year’s Eve till yesterday… Phone went dead, internet down – I thought the Mayans were right all along & the world was ending! But no, it was just feckin squirrels. Little twat-hats.

Leave a Reply

