Food-Beer-Movie: In the Woods Edition!

cheers

Welcome back to the newest edition of Food-Beer-Movie! What surprises does this new edition hold in store for you; my faithful readers? Will we laugh, learn, and love?

Only one way to find out. Let’s get it on folks!

Food: Cottage Pie!

sp3

This is my own personal recipe for Cottage Pie so I hope you enjoy it!

What you need:

1lb Ground Beef

1 Onion chopped

2 carrots chopped thin

1 Egg

Butter

5-7 potatoes

Spices used: Salt, Pepper, Cumin, Rosemary, Turmeric, garlic powder, Thyme, and Paprika. I never measure spices, so what I recommend is put in what you like.

sp5

How to Prepare:

First thing you want to do is chop up your potatoes and get them boiling while you prepare the rest of your meal.

While the potatoes are boiling, chop up your onions and carrots.

Mix all your spices, onions and carrots into a bowl with the ground beef.

With a deep pan put the meat mix together with enough water that covers the mix like a soup.

sp4

Brown this on medium high; stir and mash, and add any more spice you may want to the mix. Keep this simmering until ¾ of the water is gone.

Once the potatoes are done, mash them together with some garlic powder, some thyme, 1 egg, and a hefty amount of butter and the milk until the potatoes are fluffy.

When the meat is done put it in a oven safe pot and lay the potatoes on top.

With the oven at 375, you will bake this for 10 minutes or until the top of the potatoes gets a little crisp.

Then you are done!

sp6

Beer: Flying Dog Brewery Raging Bitch Belgian IPA

307664_4903202974988_757306185_n

This IPA from Flying Dog is a delicious mix of hops and spice and sour. These flavors mix together beautifully in a way that is so easy to drink (which at 8.3% ABV can be quite dangerous). It is a Hefe meets IPA. I guarantee you will love it.

From Flying Dog’s website

Available  Year Round

60 IBUs

60L Caramel Malts

Hops: Warrior, Columbus, Amarillo

Yeast: El Diablo

Movie: Evil Dead 2

from wiki

from wiki

Yeah, horror doesn’t get much better than this. You’ve got gore galore, practical effects, humor, scares, everything you want/need in a good horror film to enjoy. If you haven’t seen this movie, then what is wrong with you? Stop everything and see it now.

If you have, I can’t say anymore because you already know it rocks.

That brings us to a wrap for this addition of Food-Beer-Movie. Thanks for reading and cheers!

22 thoughts on “Food-Beer-Movie: In the Woods Edition!

  1. Mmmm, Cottage pie… and the beer looks all right as well. Rounded off with the magnificent Evil Dead 2. I’ve got the DVD with the squashy face; it screams when you poke its eye – brilliant!

    What’s next? Ham & Haddie pie?

    Tell you what, how smug do you look in that picture! And it’s about time you had a shave.

  2. I am so making a Cottage Pie. I totally dig these posts. These all fit right in bro, great job. Like Homer says at the dinner table…ME HUNGY!!

  3. I already trust your culinary skills since I made that one sandwich. What was it called…i think it had a curse word in it? Lots of meat, cheese, and baking in the oven.

    Anyways, I’ll be trying this one out. But behold! Tomorrow, my fellow Arnold-ites and I will be seeing The Last Stand. Afterward, we’ll be going to a restaurant called Twin Peaks, which is apparently a more upscale Hooters. The name is that much better once you know that. Also, I’m told they have their own brew called Dirty Blond, and that it’s quite good. I shall have to report back here and let you know my findings. Arnold + servers in tight shirts + local brew = probable bliss.

    • that sounds like possibly the greatest day ever man. I like the idea of the upscale Hooters. They wear 3 piece suits except with cleavage?

      • I’m going to take a lot of pictures. Whether it be 3 piece suits, two pieces, or bikinis, I will have my Arnold Day!

        I’ll wear my nicest hair that day.

      • Okay, so their uniforms are pretty much the same as Hooters, only the theme is more of a lumberjack kind of thing. The Dirty Blond beer is very similar to Blue Moon, and it was really good. I had a giant burger and really great fries with it. Overall, I’d say it’s a great place to have a bite and a pint with the guys.

        I will say, though, that most of the girls were really, really skinny. I want more meat on them bones.

    • thanks man! I try to plan these to offer the best possible evening. thanks for reading and for the comment!

Leave a Reply

